Now Where To Place That Tree?

Winter Landscape

Please click on images for full definition.

Welcome to my ‘Old Man Willow’, which has featured in other posts here. You can see him holding his walking stick for balance. But how do you think he should balance the pictures as a whole? Here are some of my thoughts:

Right looks fairly good. The path leading off to the left and the other trees give him some supporting interest.

Winter Landscape

Centre is not too bad, either. You still have the path, although not so well-defined, and a tree in the mid-distance helps the image retain its sense of depth, with Old Man Willow getting all of the attention.

Winter Landscape

Left is okay. The path is still there striking a curve, but maybe there is too much space on the right? Space is good, but it depends how it is used. Old Man Willow looks like he is about to walk off stage.

Winter Landscape

Mixed with others works well, I think, although the attention is now drawn to other trees as a whole, and Old Man Willow is no longer the focus of interest.

What do you think?

Photographs taken December 2016, local woods, Staffordshire. Β© Pete Hillman 2016. Camera used Nikon D7200, with Sigma 105mm macro lens.

19 thoughts on “Now Where To Place That Tree?

  1. I really, really like the third photo, with the tree at the left. Of course, that’s because I’m a little quirky in my preferences, and I especially like that smooth, open area that is the focus of the third photo. It looks like a lovely pool of grass, with the tree there as spectator, just waiting to see what swims across. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It seems you have to make trade-offs in each photo. I prefer the first composition for your reasons, perhaps taking a step sideways to include the end of the path between the two trees would have been my choice. But in that same photo you lose the crown of the willow to the background forest, instead of having the sky behind it to really pop it forward.

    I like the left side image the least when it comes to compositional balance, again agreeing with your considerations, but, it does pull the tree out of the far background better.

    It’s an interesting exercise and one could keep on with just this one tree by moving your feet further left or right, time of day might change the depth, weather etc. Squat, zoom, endless options, really!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Pia for your detailed thoughts and considerations πŸ™‚ I agree, and would have liked the crown of the willow to have been above the wood in the background, but I think the ground elevations were against me. Maybe if I hunkered down lower. Something I might try on another visit πŸ™‚ But indeed, there are endless options whch make photography such a joy πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Fun exercise with lots of good points. Here’s my two cents worth. My preference would be a slight tweak to # 3. I like that version because I think the open space on the right helps isolate the subject, but, for me it was cropped too much on the left. That partial tree in the left background is a little bit distracting to me. I think if that tree and a little bit of ground to the left of it were left in the frame you would have a nice triangle (small tree to top of green path, to green path end at trunk of subject, back to small tree) that points the eye to the subject.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your thoughts, David and they are worth more than 2 cents πŸ™‚ I see where you are coming from, and this could make an interesting alternative. Unfortunaley my original take on #3 cut the tree off, but it still could work on a return visit. Nice idea about the triangle. It keeps the eye roving and interested.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the one on the right. the small trees on the left balance as do the trees in the background. The mixed one takes the interest away from the willow and the left one doesn’t have enough to balance the tree on the left side.. not of fan of centering the main object. I haven’t read the other comments yet.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you very much for your thoughts, Vicki πŸ™‚ I have to agree with your preference with the top image with the tree on the right. Although I am not a fan of centering either, sometimes it can work, depending on the subject.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

