Shafts of Sunlight Through The Misty Woods

Misty Woodland

Please click on images for full definition.

Sometimes when I am out walking I find myself absorbed on the path ahead of me and don’t always think to look back. Looking back today I was greeted with a magnificent light display as shafts of diffuse light pushed through the morning mist.

Misty Woodland

Night frosts and moonbeams
Memories like ghosts
Peering from the depths
Drifting and haunting

Misty Woodland

Yet as morning comes
The night chills are lifted
Pulled up on golden shafts of light
Swirling, dancing the dance of pure delight

Misty Woodland

Dedicated to Linda May Hillman 1956 – 2014. Dearest sister-in-law who loved photography and helped guide and encourage me.

Photographs taken December 2016, local woods, Staffordshire. © Pete Hillman 2016. Camera used Nikon D7200, with Nikon 18-55mm lens.

8 thoughts on “Shafts of Sunlight Through The Misty Woods

  1. Such beautiful photos and words Pete all of which touch my heart. Linda would love what you have captured in these magical photos and she would be so proud of you. She would be at home amongst those trees and I can imagine her being there and connecting with the natural forces. Thank you so much Pete!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t know how I missed this blog ,Pete.
    Beautiful tribute to your sister in law and smashing photos.
    The woods remind me of a place called the Dukes Drive in Chester where I lived from 13 – 22

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much, Ark, and thank you for following me here, too 🙂 These wood are a five minute walk from my house, so I am lucky to have them on my doorstep. It’s a great place to get and feel close to nature, especially when the stresses of modern living start getting too much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

