The Fly

Flesh-fly

Please click on the image for a larger, more detailed view.

I remember seeing ‘The Fly’, when I was  kid, not the 1986 remake with Jeff Goldblum, which I thought was pretty good, but the original 1958 version with Vincent Price. It was teleportation gone terribly wrong when a fly slips in the device with the scientist, and well, quite a mistake and a ‘mix-up’ that was!  I bet Captain Kirk never had this problem when he said “Beam me up, Scotty.” Some films just stay with you through the years.


Flesh-fly, rear garden, Staffordshire, England. May 2017.

12 thoughts on “The Fly

  1. Don’t remember the original which means you are older than me or my memory has gone for a Burton and I am considerably older than you. As my ego is fragile I am going to opt for the former, which means you are a really old git. 😉

    I remember the Jeff Goldblum version. Quite enjoyed it at the time as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! 🙂 I am not quite that old, Ark. The original came out 6 years before I was born. It’s a classic. The ending got me when a fly with a man’s head caught in spider’s web was pleading “Help me!”.

      Like

  2. I remember it also, a true 50s horror classic like The Blog, It, and Creature from the Black Lagoon to name just a few more. Most of the 50s sci-fi movies were pretty hokey by today’s standards but like you said, some films just stay with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember the films you mention, and how exciting they were and scary seeing them when I was a kid. Today’s generation would probably laugh at them, but I still like the old Frankenstein and Dracula, also.

      Like

  3. Dear Pete

    I am always astonished how life expresses itself in all kind of forms, like kaleidoscopic facets – and we can see even in this fly the wonderful beauty and building behind.

    Thanks for sharing, Pete 🙂
    All the best
    Didi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

